Danny Lafayette to chair BWH board

The BWH Hotel Group board of directors has elected Danny Lafayette as board chairman for 2023.

Lafayette, who previously served as vice chairman of the board of directors, brings decades of hospitality experience and more than 40 years of Best Western ownership to his role as chairman.

“I’m pleased to announce Danny Lafayette as our new chairman of the board,” said Larry Cuculic, president/CEO, BWH Hotel Group. “Danny has been a trusted member of our organization for over four decades. His deep knowledge of our brand, together with his extensive industry experience, make Danny the ideal selection to serve as chairman. I look forward to working alongside Danny and his colleagues on the board of directors as we continue to grow our brand, deliver industry-leading customer care to our guests and drive superior revenue to our hoteliers.”

During his time as a Best Western owner, Lafayette has served in numerous leadership roles. He served as a Best Western governor for more than 25 years. He was elected to the board of directors in 2018 to represent the interests of hotel owners in District VII, which includes the Northeastern region of the U.S. and the Eastern provinces of Canada.

“It is an honor to be elected as the chairman of the board for BWH Hotel Group,” he said. “As a longtime member and leader of Best Western, I have witnessed first-hand our journey to becoming a global hospitality powerhouse. I am proud to be a part of this incredible family of hoteliers and I look forward to working with my fellow directors and our outstanding team of associates to help lead our great brand into an even brighter future ahead.”

In addition to his work with BWH Hotel Group, Lafayette has been highly involved with the Maine Innkeepers Association, where he served as president of the association and a member of the board for several years.

In addition to the election of Lafayette as chairman of the board, the board of directors also elected Phil Payne as vice chairman and Steve Wahrlich as secretary-treasurer. Recently, Rajesh (Raj) Patel and Santosh Khanjee were also elected to the board of directors as directors for District IV and District V respectively.