AHLA Names 2019 Officers, Board of Directors, Executive Committee

LOS ANGELES—The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) has named its 2019 officers, board of directors and executive committee, which includes top leaders representing all segments of the hospitality industry.

Geoff Ballotti, president/CEO of Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, was named chair of the board, and Jon Bortz, chairman/president/CEO of Pebblebrook Hotel Trust as vice chair. Justin Knight, president/CEO of Apple Hospitality REIT, joins the officer slate as secretary/treasurer, and Dave Johnson, president/CEO of Aimbridge Hospitality, will continue in his role as chair of the Board of Trustees. Ballotti succeeds Mark Carrier, president of B.F. Saul Company Hospitality Group, who has served as chair for the past two years and becomes immediate past chair.

“I’m honored to serve as chair of AHLA at such a pivotal and exciting time for our association and our industry as a whole,” said Ballotti. “The past year has been one of AHLA’s strongest yet, with a wave of momentum around our most important issues. I want to thank Mark Carrier for his outstanding leadership as AHLA chairman over the past two years as AHLA was out front positioning our industry around the critical jobs and career development we foster for our current workforce and aspiring young talented individuals who seek jobs in our dynamic industry through the work of our association and foundation. I’m excited to begin the next chapter for our industry, welcoming our incoming President/CEO Chip Rogers, and building on that momentum to achieve even more success in the future.”

Rogers addressed the AHLA Board of Directors during its January meeting. He officially takes the helm of AHLA today, January 28.

“It is an honor to be joining AHLA and leading an association that makes such a positive difference for so many people,” said Rogers. “The lodging industry is truly remarkable, creating opportunities for millions of hardworking people and providing a home away from home for Americans and international visitors alike. AHLA represents the pinnacle trade association of the lodging industry, and the American Hotel and Lodging Foundation has advanced the education and careers of thousands of industry leaders. That’s due in no small part to the leadership of Katherine Lugar, the strong AHLA team and the commitment of the AHLA officers, board and executive committee, as well as our foundation trustees. I look forward to building on Katherine’s legacy and working closely with our distinguished board of directors, executive committee and trustees as we continue to move AHLA and our industry forward.”

The AHLA Board of Directors represents leaders from all sectors of the lodging industry, including brands, owners and real estate investment trusts (REITs), management companies, independent hotels and state associations.

New members of the board appointed to two-year terms in 2019 include the following:

Owner Representatives
Joe Berger, President/CEO, BRE Hotels & Resorts
Krissy Gathright, EVP/COO, Apple Hospitality REIT
Sean Mahoney, EVP/CFO/Treasurer, RLJ Lodging Trust
Mitch Patel, President/CEO, Vision Hospitality Group
Steven Siegel, Partner/COO, KSL Capital Partners LLC
Nate Tyrrell, EVP/CIO, Host Hotels & Resorts

Management Company Representatives
Ted Darnall, CEO Lodging &Technical Services Companies, HEI Hotels
Sloan Dean, COO, Remington Hotels
Michael George, Founder/President/CEO, Crescent Hotels & Resorts
Thomas Penny, President, Donohoe Hospitality

Independent Representatives
Jack Damioli, President/CEO, The Broadmoor
John Tolbert, President/Managing Director, Boca Raton Resort & Club

Allied Representatives
Reggie Aggarwal, Founder/CEO, Cvent
Michael Leone, Chief Commercial Officer, PSAV
Tammy Weinbaum, EVP-Global Client Group, Global Merchant Services, American Express Company

At-Large Representatives
Catherine Powell, President, Disney Parks Western Region, Disney Parks, Experiences and Consumer Products
Kate Walsh, Dean and E.M. Statler Professor, School of Hotel Administration, Cornell SC Johnson College of Business

Additionally, AHLA welcomed four new members to its executive committee, which serves as the association’s core governance body and guides its policy agenda.

New Representatives on the Executive Committee
Leslie Hale, CEO, RLJ Lodging Trust
Walter Isenberg, President/CEO, Sage Hospitality
Stephen Bartolin, Jr., Chairman of The Broadmoor and President of The Broadmoor-Sea Island Company
Rob Palleschi, President/CEO, G6 Hospitality LLC

AHLA’s success would not be possible without the support of its partner organizations. The AHLA Premier Partner Program offers industry vendors and suppliers the opportunity to engage directly with AHLA members at an executive level and increase brand visibility.

AHLA 2019 Premier Partners
Platinum: American Express, Cvent, Hcareers a Virgil Company, PSAV, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, STR Inc.
Gold: Avendra LLC, Brand USA, Ecolab
Silver: Pearson